About Kewaunee

  • Board of Directors

    William Shumaker

    William A. Shumaker

    Mr. Shumaker served as Chief Executive Officer of the Company from September 2000 until his retirement on June 30, 2013. He also served as President from August 1999 until March 2012. He was elected a director of the Company in February 2000 and Chairman of the Board in February 2010. He served as the Company’s Chief Operating Officer from August 1998 until September 2000 and General Manager of the Laboratory Products Group from February 1998 until August 1998. He joined the Company in December 1993 as Vice President of Sales and Marketing. Mr. Shumaker also served as a member of the North Carolina Economic Development Board until the end of 2014. He is currently serving as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Greater Statesville Development Corporation.

    Keith Gehl

    Keith M. Gehl

    Mr. Gehl was elected a director of the Company effective April 29, 2015. He served as Senior Vice President of Real Estate & Facilities of Family Dollar Stores, Inc. from 2003 until his retirement in June 2013. From 1989 to 2003, Mr. Gehl held a number of management positions with Food Lion, Inc. At Food Lion, he served as Director of Internal Audit from 1989 to 1996, Director of Store Operations from 1996 to 1997, Vice-President Real Estate and Construction from 1997 to 2000, and Executive Vice President Real Estate and Business Strategy from 2000 to 2003. Effective May 2016, Mr. Gehl began serving on the Board of RONA, Inc., a Canadian home improvement retailer with over 500 locations and $4 billion (Canadian) in sales. Mr. Gehl holds an accounting degree from Valparaiso University. During his career, he successfully completed the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) examination.

    Magaret Pyle

    Margaret B. Pyle

    Mrs. Pyle was elected a director of the Company on February 23, 1995. Ms. Pyle has been engaged in the practice of corporate law for over 38 years and has been Vice Chair and Chief Legal Counsel of The Pyle Group since 2007. In addition, she was the sole Trustee and Chief Executive of the Allis-Chalmers Corporation Product Liability Trust from June 1996 until March 2012 and has been the sole Trustee and Chief Executive of the Ranger Industries, Inc. Product Liability Trust since April 2012.

    Dave Rausch

    David M. Rausch

    Mr. Rausch was elected President and Chief Executive Officer and a director of the Company on July 1, 2013. He joined the Company in March 1994 as Manager of Estimating and was promoted to Southeast Regional Sales Manager in December 1996, then to Director of Sales for Network storage Systems products in May 2000. In August 2001, he was promoted to Project Sales Manager, and in this position, he also had direct management responsibility for the Estimating Department. Mr. Rausch was elected Vice President of Construction Services in June 2007. In June 2011, he was elected Senior Vice President of Construction Services and General Manager of the Laminate Furniture Division, and in March 2012, he was elected President and Chief Operating Officer.

    David Rhind

    David S. Rhind

    Mr. Rhind was elected a director of the Company on April 17, 2008. Mr. Rhind is an attorney-at-law. From June 2012 to March 2015, Mr. Rhind served as Deputy General Counsel for Hudson Global, Inc. (formerly Hudson Highland Group, Inc.) of New York, New York, a leading provider of specialized professional recruitment, recruitment outsourcing, talent management, and related staffing services and solutions. From July 2003 to June 2012, Mr. Rhind was General Counsel, North America, for Hudson. From October 1995 to June 2003, he was Associate General Counsel at Technology Solutions Company of Chicago, a technology consulting and systems integration company.

    John Russell

    John D. Russell

    Mr. Russell was elected a director of the Company on May 31, 2011. Since November 6, 2015, Mr. Russell has served as the President and CEO of Morton Buildings, a construction company headquartered in Morton, Illinois. From September 2012 to November 2015, Mr. Russell was a Managing Director of ForteONE, a Chicago-based consulting firm focused on helping middle market business owners achieve revenue growth and profit improvement. From June 2006 until March 2014, Mr. Russell was a business consultant and a director for Strategic Materials Incorporated, the largest glass recycling business in North America. From September 2007 to May 2010, he was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Maysteel LLC, a precision metal fabricator in Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin. From April 2002 to April 2006, he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Neoplan USA, a manufacturer of heavy duty transit buses. Prior to April 2002, Mr. Russell was a partner at McKinsey and Company anda corporate officer of Brunswick Corporation.

    Donald Shaw

    Donald F. Shaw

    Mr. Shaw was elected a director of the Company on June 1, 2013. He previously served as President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of the Board of ISEC, Inc., a high-end commercial interior subcontractor, from 2004 until his retirement in March 2013. Mr. Shaw held the position of Executive Vice President of ISEC, Inc. from 1988 to 2004 and served in various sales management positions with ISEC from 1977 to 1988.

    The Kewaunee Scientific Corporation Board of Directors has a standing Audit Committee, Compensation Committee, Executive Committee, Financial/Planning Committee, and Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee. The chart below shows the composition of each of the standing committees:


    Director Name   Audit Compensation

    Financial/ Planning

    Nominating and Corporate Governance
    William A. Shumaker      Committee Member Committee Member
    Keith M. Gehl  Committee Chair Committee Member    
    Margaret B. Pyle    Committee Member Committee Member Committee Member
    David M. Rausch      Committee Member  
    David S. Rhind    Committee Member   Committee Chair
    John D. Russell Committee Member Committee Chair Committee Member  
    Donald F. Shaw Committee Member Committee Member Committee Chair  

    Committee Chair- Chair  Committee Member- Member

    August 27, 2014 - Charter of the Compensation Committee

    August 22, 2012 - Charter of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee

    June 23, 2015 - Charter of the Audit Committee